Author Topic: If you decide to ban multi-ing & botting, this is HOW to do it, please read  (Read 6174 times)

Victarion

1. Create an arctic specific mud client (like the java client on the arctic page) and make it so that it is the ONLY way to connect to mud. Make macros and aliases the only features, removing all forms of triggers, and you will definitely stop the bots. I am not an expert on multi-ing and botting, but if the finns were Michael Jordan, I am Scotty Pippen. I know that most multi-ing is done through one specific client, and I am sure there are other clients out there that make it super easy as well that I don't know about. Removing the use of these clients and only allowing the game to be played from the Java based client on the website will put EVERYBODY on the same playing field. And as we all know, botting is only done because of triggers. Not allowing a triggers would simply remove the ability to program bots.

ALSO, a few extra ideas if you can't recognize the genius of my first idea

2. Try to form a list of proxy IP's and ban them all.
3. create an Ventrillo, or teamspeak channel for arcticmud. Every group that is formed is automatically assigned a number, and those players in that group must join the group numbers channel in the voice client. Any imm, lvls 31-36, can jump down to channels and say "Hi, i see there are 5 people in your group, i would like all five of you to say hello to me". Every moron that plays this game can afford a microphone and speakers, so this would work fine, and it would take no time at all to check all groups in game.
4. You must create an account and validate the email address on the arctic website before you can make a char in game. You then have to connect to the arctic website via a web browser and that IP that you connect to the webpage must match the IP that your character is connecting to mud with. (This would complicate proxying the way most do it now)